About Us

Welcome to the Irish Academy Of American Graduate Dental Specialists


On 29th April 1983, Drs Billy Davis, Declan Corcoran, Donal Fitzgibbon, John Walsh and Nicky Mahon met in Fitzwilliam Lawn Tennis Club to consider the possibility of setting up an academy for American trained graduate dental specialists.

In order to be a member of the group, it is necessary to be an American trained graduate dentist in specialist practice.

Dr Billy Davis was the first president of the group, Dr Declan Corcoran was the first honorary secretary, Dr Nicky Mahon was the first honorary treasurer.

On 7th August, 1984, the first scholarship was awarded for education and travel by the Academy. The awards ceremony was carried out at the United States Embassy. The first scholarship was awarded to Dr Pat Cleary. The U.S. Ambassador to Ireland, Mr Robert Kane R.I.P., kindly presented the award to Dr Cleary.